Home > Forum > General > Importing and Exporting Applications

Importing and Exporting Applications

Hello, im still learning Webcon and I have some questions regarding Importing and Exporting applications.
I tried exporting and importing an application to a different message but I got the following message when I tried to save and publish process (image attached)
1. What does this line mean "all changes to this process must be made by importing a file containing an updated configuration" ? Is this a necessary step to do on an imported app and how can I do it?
2. Is there an impact if I saved it anyways?
3. Process imported to environment via export-import mechanism. Manual modification is locked. Is there a way unlock manual modification and will it have any impact on the application?

Thanks in Advance

MVP

HI,
In the perfect world, you should do all development on DEV environment, and only use Import mechanism on TEST/PROD environments.

When you import an application to an environment Webcon defaults in in its settings to display a message, that you are modifying process, that have been imported.
This is a way to warn and protect user before making changes which might lead to unpredictable errors. I once felt the pain, and I'm now always thinking twice, when changing something on TEST/PROD manually.

TLDR;
1. Webcon will mark process as imported, and will prompt you every time you will try to save it, that it is a import/export process. You still can allow it, but on each save there will be a message to confirm.
2. It's only a checkbox marked, you can uncheck it (Miscellaneous group: https://docs.webcon.com/docs/2024R1/Studio/Process/Process_Configuration/Process_Settings)
3. As in pt. 2 :)

@Update, below example is wrong, I'm leaving it here, to maintain the discussion, in later comments there is an update in this regard.

An example, let's say you are developing an application, that is already on DEV/TEST/PROD.

Monday: