Applies to version: 2021.1.x and above; author: Konrad Wojtycza
The article is an update of the already existing article, it shows the configuration in version 2021.1.1. For the original see: Adding and removing privileges.
In workflow instances, there is often a need for people who do not have active tasks at the indicated steps to have appropriate privileges and be able to e.g. view (read privileges) or edit an instance. In such a situation, you can use the action of adding/removing privileges at the level of individual workflow instances.
You can find these actions in the “Actions” tab of a given workflow. They are most often used for entering/exiting a step and on transition paths. For more information about actions in WEBCON BPS, see Introduction to actions in WEBCON BPS.
Fig. 1. The "Add/Remove privileges" action
The user may be granted one of four possible privileges levels:
Fig. 2. The "Add privileges" action configuration window
Then, define the users that should be granted privileges:
Fig. 3. The "Always to" option
Fig. 4. The "Dynamic" option
In the presented example, the query returns a person who replaces the person assigned to the processed instance.
Fig. 5. The "SQL query" option
In the right part of the configuration window, you can decide whether the privileges will be kept or removed after following the path to the next step.
You can also define the instance on which the privileges will be added. There are two options:
Fig. 6. The dynamic element selection
This query returns all instances that have the same parent instance as the current instance.
Fig. 7. The SQL query
The “Remove privileges” action works similarly to the “Add privileges” action. By using this action you can lower/remove the privileges indicated to the users (if they have them) to the defined level.
Privilege reduction levels:
Configuring the privilege level, people/groups, and instances for this action is identical to the “Add privileges” action.