Home > Forum > Actions > How to get previous action

How to get previous action

Hi Guys,
knowing i am a newbie, i just have a maybe quite simple question.
Can i get the ID of the 'calling' action on the entry path of an action?
Would like to check which ist the caller and depending on the result send an email or not. Thats it ;-)
Thanks for some hints, Gerd

MVP

Hi Gerd,

welcome to the community. :)

I'm not sure that I understand what you mean with "calling" action. First of all a little naming clarification which:
- We have paths which lead from on step to another.
- Each path has a automation which can execute other automations.
- An automations is build from actions.
- Automations can have input/output and local parameters

I'm assuming that you mean with "calling action" the path, on which a user clicked/is executed in a timeout or similar. We can get the "current" path from the values tab of the expression editor.
If you actually want to execute an action based on some information, I would pass this information using parameters.

On additional "naming" information.
The word "field" is used in English , but it in Polish it's an attribute. So you may sometimes read field or attribute in this forum. Both are referring to the same, in most cases. :)
I have no idea how the translation is in German, I prefer using everything in English. It makes it easier to find something. :)

Best regards,
Daniel

In reply to: Daniel Krüger (Cosmo Consult)

Hi Gerd,

welcome to the community. :)

I'm not sure that I understand what you mean with "calling" action. First of all a little naming clarification which:
- We have paths which lead from on step to another.
- Each path has a automation which can execute other automations.
- An automations is build from actions.
- Automations can have input/output and local parameters