Home > Forum > Actions > Send email on new row

Send email on new row

in theory i did it :)
in practice ... i don't have access to dev now 9weekend)
but in webcon portal I did it :) and no errors so ... it should work

https://portal.webconbps.com/db/1/app/452/element/6829/form

---edit---
(I'm still learning...)
probably is not perfect and it could be tweaked .. but mechanic should be similar.
- invoke menu
menu start automation
automation send email
ad row change value of tech field
change of value tigers menu button

MVP
In reply to: Paweł Tołoczko

in theory i did it :)
in practice ... i don't have access to dev now 9weekend)
but in webcon portal I did it :) and no errors so ... it should work

https://portal.webconbps.com/db/1/app/452/element/6829/form

---edit---
(I'm still learning...)
probably is not perfect and it could be tweaked .. but mechanic should be similar.
- invoke menu
menu start automation
automation send email
ad row change value of tech field
change of value tigers menu button

Hi,

I would implement it in another way. As far as I understand it, this would always set a technical field which in turn invokes the menu action. This would always save the instance, which may not be so good for the use experience.

I see two options, one with a technical field as suggested and one without.
- Technical field "Has been added"
- The field is defined in the item list.
- The form rule in the advanced configuration of the item list sets the field to true.
- An automation is executed in the OnSave trigger or a path.
- This automation checks whether the field is true for any row. Then you could decide whether to send a mail for all rows or for each row separately.
- At the end the automation sets the value to false for each row.

The alternative would compare the data of the item list against a previous version saved in WFHistoryElementDetails. This would work, but it may be more complex than using the technical field.

Best regards,
Daniel

MVP